Coffee with kids never a good idea!!!!

During the week scrolling through Facebook, yes I do that, but only once all the house work is done of course (cough cough). An invite appeared in my feed to catch up for coffee with the mum’s from School. Being new to the area and the school the decision as to whether or not to go played on my mind. The word Clicky school mum’s pops into my head. We all know the type from the time you have your first child their is the clicky playgroup mums, preschool mums, then once you hit school the competitive school mums or the clicky group you know the ones they have coffee down at Gloria Jean’s every Friday morning their kids all play weekend sport together. Or the competive mum… their kid is good at everything you know someone like this don’t you….. Or they seem to  know everything about everyone. So all these thoughts came to mind. Will these mums be like that, they have know each other for the past 3 years their kids all went to Prep together. Will I be the only mum who has to take her kids…… My kids are WILD in a good way full of life, explore they never sit still unless they have an Ipad in front of them. Do I really want to be the mum who pulls out the Ipad just so my kid sits still so I can have a coffee. Great first impression that would be.

So this morning still undecided. I decided to give it a go lets face it getting out of the house and having a grown up conversation with someone other than my husband is a great idea. taking 2 children not such a good idea.

So I rock up hoping to be able to see someone from school I know, so as to not look like a stalker. Scan the room for the year 2 mums ok found them. Walk over yes one mum I know. Score. By this point I’m beyond the point of no return.

After the introduction of so whose mum are you. Yes I lost my identity years ago after having my first child. I’m sure you can relate to this. Yes my son is new to the school. Go into the usual spill of moving for work blah blah my life really isn’t that glamours… Fighting back the thoughts of clicky that keeps popping in my head. Knowing your the outsider in these situations is always a tough one. But I  must admit the ladies did make me feel welcomed and included me the conversations they had.

So after getting up and chasing Master T around and trying so hard to have a grown up conversation I gave up. Taking 2 kids out for coffee is bloody hard. It doesn’t matter how much food you have for them it’s like once that flavored milk is finished you better of finished your coffee and conversation because they are done. They have seen the play area played in it. They are over that now. Sitting still yeah right, there is a door over there that needs to opened i,t his your kids name written all over it.  So to all the mums who take their kids out for coffee and your kids sit and behavior what is your secrete. I take my hat off to anyone who takes kids out and about it is like a mission us mum choose to accept every week, be it at the shops and playing shopping center hide and seek. We all know that game all too well.

So my mission was successful I managed to have a decent cup of coffee and have some adult conversation other than the hubby.

20130531-115829.jpg

Mission Complete

Annie xxx

About Annieslane

My name is Annemarie I'm a Crazy mum to 3 boys...wife to an amazing husband...I really need something to keep my sanity in check!! So this is it. About me.... I have no idea were to start. I'm unorganised, running on others peoples time is something I'm not good at. I'm not the perfect house wife, I leave the dishes for the next day if I couldn't be bothered, then curse myself the next day for not not doing it. On being a mummy I try my best some days I do get it right. Other days I need wine. But I'm managing the best way I know how.
Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Coffee with kids never a good idea!!!!

  1. Nicole says:

    Great job Annie! I’m positive you won’t be an outsider for long. One of your strengths is making friends especially in new places 🙂

Leave a Reply

