When did the School lunch box go Gourmet!!!

When did school lunch boxes become more than just a sandwich, a piece of fruit and maybe a packet of chips thrown in. I think back when I was at school this was called a poor kids lunch box.

Image

Some days my son comes home from school and has only eaten his sandwich. Apparently due to time restrictions. (Play time). So for me its finding something he will like to eat and put that in. But I often get lunch box envy, when I see kids with things like a Quinoa salad or home made muffins I have tried but seem to fail at this. So are these gourmet lunch for school kids or is it a more healthy choice parents are offering kids these day.

My Prep went to school last week with a chocolate custard. It doesn’t matter if it was home made or brought from the shops. But the boy next to him told him he couldn’t eat it as it was unhealthy. That was it for my Prep he sat with his arm crossed until the teacher told him it was ok to it eat, But it’s a sometimes food. Now I’m all for healthy eating but I also understand that sometimes what ever you have is what makes it in the lunch box. 9 times out of 10 the fruit always come back at my place.

So what yummy things do you put in your kids lunch boxes?

Do you feel the pressure to make an effort with school lunches?

Are you a gourmet lunch box person?

Let’s see what come home this arvo after school.

Annie

About Annieslane

My name is Annemarie I'm a Crazy mum to 3 boys...wife to an amazing husband...I really need something to keep my sanity in check!! So this is it. About me.... I have no idea were to start. I'm unorganised, running on others peoples time is something I'm not good at. I'm not the perfect house wife, I leave the dishes for the next day if I couldn't be bothered, then curse myself the next day for not not doing it. On being a mummy I try my best some days I do get it right. Other days I need wine. But I'm managing the best way I know how.
Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to When did the School lunch box go Gourmet!!!

  1. Jillian says:

    It has always been a struggle to get my boy to eat lunch at school. Playing is much more important. If he decides he doesn’t like, even if he like it yesterday he just will not eat it. He generally has a sandwich or wrap with a few biscuits or similar. Have given up on the fruit, just try to get that in at home. My daughter on the other hand will have a sandwich/wrap, carrot sticks, a piece of fruit, biscuit or similar every day and sometimes even more.

    • Annieslane says:

      Last weekend when we did the shopping list. I made sure to ask what they wanted all week. So wraps have gone well this week. Yep, the fruit still comes back I guess it always will.

Leave a Reply

