Tips for surviving on 1 income.

I have been a stay at home mum now for the last 3 years. During that time I have often been asked how do you survive on one income. It can be done it just take s a lot of dedication and knowing the difference between a luxury or a necessity. The biggest saver we found once we had paid all the bills was to be smart about the way we shopped and looking for what one might call a bargain. Just because it is on sale do you really need it?

So I’m hoping to add too this small list of some good ideas on how to save and keep more money in your pocket.

image

What a better time to look at how your money is going than just before tax time.

Handy tips for saving money:

  1. Meal plan it could be weekly, fortnightly or monthly.
  2. It will help with the shopping list. Write a list before you go shopping leave it around the house for a few days and add anything that you need to it.
  3. Buy food that is in season
  4. Check out your local farmers market they are popping up all over the place.
  5. Look at the catalogues for what’s on sale. Include in your meal plan.
  6. On-line shop, now I know they charge a fee for delivery. Sometimes it is cheaper on set days. Just check. But you can see what you are spending as you go. I have been know to delete items to cover the delivery cost before.
  7. Avoid going back to the shop as that $2.00 bottle of milk is going to cost you and extra $30 as you see all those things on sale.
  8. Always have a UHT milk or a few in the cupboard. They are always on sale and they are normally 2lt for $2.00.
  9. Freeze bread, make your own or buy wraps to have as a backup.
  10. Keep your fridge and pantry organised so you can see what you have. Meal plan around your pantry you might have a lot of things to make meals instead of buying and adding more look and see what you can make. Use all your fruit and veggie’s try not to waste anything. Make stock or throw in a soup or a strew.
  11. Have a meat free night.
  12. Have a tin food night, a toasted sandwich night. Just remember you don’t have to go to a lot of effort every night, I bet the kids don’t complain this night.
  13. Make extra and take for lunch or freeze as a single meal.
  14. Cook up a storm every now and then Freeze if you have the room. Look at what snacks for the kids you can freeze. I have a cookie dough I keep in the freezer I just cut as I need it.
  15. Drink more water. A glass before a meal will make you feel full quicker.
  16. Use powdered milk for cooking.  If you find you are using to much of the bottle when you cook. It won’t change the flavour to the end result.
  17. Try not to eat out as much. This is hard as it is something it’s so handy.
  18. Learn to say NO!!! I struggle with this one.
  19. Eat less meat bulk meals up with veg, pasta or beans.
  20. The Slow cooker can be your best friend on busy days. Have it all prep the night before and pop it all in the morning. If you add a little extra you could have leftovers for the next night or freeze for later.
  21. Grow your own herb if you like fresh so much cheaper.
  22. Eat Breakfast this might sound silly. Just think about how much more snacking you do if you don’t eat breakfast. (coffee isn’t breakfast) I’m guilty of this.

More saving around the house:

  1. Have a 2 light rule in the house this might not suit your family but turn a few light’s off.
  2. Turn that power point off if it’s not in use.
  3. Lower the wattage in your light’s and lamps.
  4. Turn the T.V off. Don’t have the same show on different T.V’s
  5. Use your off peak time to your advantage. Eg/ washing,dishwasher,shower
  6. Get rid of your Credit Card. Did you know the bank will loan you more money if you don’t have one.
  7. Set bills up to be paid how you get paid. So that when the bill comes in it is either paid in full or you only owe a small about or shock yourself and be in credit.
  8. Always pay your bills on time.
  9. Walk if you can. Sound good but doesn’t always suit.
  10. Consolidate your loans just talk to the bank it’s better to have one loan than to have 2.
  11. Set up a spread sheet to track all your money, don’t forget to look at doing a yearly spread sheet as well. Just to make sure you have everything covered. Nothing worse than forgetting you have to pay car rego, insurance and roadside assistance all in the same month. That’s the stuff that if you want to try to avoid.
  12. Take your spending money out of the bank so you know how much you have spent. It a easy way to keep track of it.

Please share your tips so I can add them to the list. Also let me know if any of these have been helpful.

Annie xx

About Annieslane

My name is Annemarie I'm a Crazy mum to 3 boys...wife to an amazing husband...I really need something to keep my sanity in check!! So this is it. About me.... I have no idea were to start. I'm unorganised, running on others peoples time is something I'm not good at. I'm not the perfect house wife, I leave the dishes for the next day if I couldn't be bothered, then curse myself the next day for not not doing it. On being a mummy I try my best some days I do get it right. Other days I need wine. But I'm managing the best way I know how.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tips for surviving on 1 income.

  1. claireyhewitt01 says:

    Aldi – it’s the best way to save money, limited choices so you don’t tend to buy other products just for ‘maybe’.

Leave a Reply

